What are the five u. s. possessions?

The United States has a total of 16 territories, of which five are permanently inhabited. They are Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and North Mariana Islands. The other territories are coral reefs, small islets, or atolls with no permanent population of any significance.