What is an adjective in a sentence?

An adjective is a word that describes a noun or noun phrase. So in the sentence "The black dog ran for the ball," the word "black" would be the adjective since it tells you what sort of dog was running.

---

An adjective in a sentence describes the quality or the status the noun. Examples of adjectives are red, slow or many.