Why did north and south carolina split?

Northern Carolina, drew the region's discontented masses. As the two locales evolved separately and as their differing geographies and inhabitants steered contrasting courses, calls for a formal split emerged. In 1712, North Carolina and South Carolina became distinct colonies.