What is a mongoloid?

It was previously used as an offensive term for indigenous people from East Asia, Southeast Asia for example, & from parts of North America. Once Asia as a whole became part of the United Nations, it asked that the term no longer be used. It was also used as a term for Down's Syndrome, but no more.