What type of leaves do caterpillars eat?

It depends on the caterpillar. Some like tomato plants, some like passion flower, some like hibiscus leaves. Mostly plants and flowers leaves.

---

This depends on the species of caterpillar. One example is the caterpillar that becomes a monarch butterfly, it likes only milkweed leaves. Another example is the gypsy moth caterpillar which will eat any of 500 species of plants.