What is an astro unit?

Astronomical unit shortened AU is a distance unit. 1 AU equals distance between Sun and Earth. It is very informative for measurements in our solar system. E.g. distance to Jupiter is 5 AU, which means it is 5 times further from Sun then Earth. Saturn is close to 10 AU, Mars 1.5 AU.