What's the difference between brown sugar and dark brown sugar?

Both light and dark brown sugar contain molasses, but dark brown sugar contains more. Along with the increased amount of molasses comes a deeper, darker color, slightly more moisture and acidity, and a stronger flavor with more pronounced caramel undertones.