Where does rice originate?

Archaeologists have unearthed bits of rice from when it was first domesticated in China. Around 10,000 years ago, as the Pleistocene era gave way to our current geological epoch, a group of hunter-gathers near China's Yangtze River began changing their way of life. They started to grow rice.