What's the definition of leon?

Leon is a first name of Greek origin, meaning "lion," has spawned the Latin "Leo," French "Lyon," Irish "Leon" and Spanish "León." Perhaps the oldest attested historical figure to bear this name was Leon of Sparta, a 5th-century BCE king of Sparta, while in Greek mythology Leon was a Giant .