How do you know when a hard boiled egg is done?

Cooking time is a good indicator with 12 minutes for hard boiled. The quickest way to distinguish between an uncooked egg and a solid boiled egg is to put it flat on the counter and spin it. A raw egg will wobble and spin slowly, while a boiled egg will spin very quickly and very easily.