Is spontaneous combustion real?

Yes. A British biologist, Brian J. Ford, in August 2012, described his experiments with combustion in the magazine New Scientist. According to Ford, a buildup of acetone in the body (which can result from alcoholism, diabetes or a specific kind of diet) can lead to spontaneous combustion.