How much does it cost to build a garage?

From homeguide's web site, the average cost to build a garage is $35 to $60 per square foot. The cost to build a 1-car garage is between $7,500 to $14,200, a 2-car garage costs $19,600 and $28,200, and a 3-car garage ranges from $28,200 to $42,700.