How did minecraft start?

Minecraft is the brainchild of the Swedish programmer Markus "Notch" Persson who previously worked at the video game developers King and later jAlbum. Before laying all of his focus on Minecraft, Notch developed a few prototypes during his off-hours, inspired by popular games at the time.