What was the eighteen thirty compromise of missouri?

The Missouri Compromise was a legislation that stopped northern attempts to prohibit slavery's expansion by admitting Missouri as a slave state and Maine as a free state in exchange for legislation which prohibited slavery in the remaining Louisiana Purchase lands north of the 36°30′ parallel.