Are dogs and wolves related?

Wolves (canis lupus) and domestic dogs (canis familiaris) are closely-related species. They can interbreed and produce viable, fertile offspring wolfdogs. Through DNA analysis, scientists have established that the wolf is the ancestor of the dog.