When were years created?

As to, calendar, years, Neolithic man first started recording years so they would know when to plant. A 10,000-year-old calendar was discovered in 2013. As for year as defined by earth traveling around the sun, years became a reality at the birth of Earth, about 4.5 billion years ago.