What's the difference between raw and caviar?

All fish eggs are technically “roe”, but not all “roe” is caviar. The term caviar only applies to the fish roe in the sturgeon family Acipenseridae. Salmon roe and the roe from whitefish, trout, cod, red caviar, ikura, and tobiko, etc. are considered “caviar subsitutes” and not caviar.