What's the biggest storm?

On Earth, the biggest storms are tropical cyclones, of which hurricanes and typhoons are examples. The largest of these storms recorded to date, was Super Typhoon Tip, on 10/12/1979, which spanned 1,380 miles (2,220 km), and had winds of up to 190 mph (306 kph).

---

Typhoon Tip was the largest tropical cyclone on record, with a diameter of 1,380 mi (2,220 km)—almost double the previous record of 700 mi (1,130 km) set by Typhoon Marge in August 1951. At its largest, Tip was nearly half the size of the contiguous United States.