What's it called purple hearts?

George Washington, established the original Purple Heart, named the Badge of Military Merit. The badge was a heart shaped purple cloth. Purple Hearts R awarded by the President to members of Armed Forces who, have been wounded or killed. August 7th is national purple heart day. Thank veterans today