When did the american civil war occur?

The American Civil War began with the bombing of Ft. Sumter on April 12, 1861 and officially ended August 20, 1866 when President Andrew Johnson made an official proclamation of peace.

---

April 12, 1861 at 4:30 am April 9 1865