What is the meaning behind a christmas tree?

Pope John Paul called the Christmas tree a symbol of Christ. This ancient custom, he said, exalts the value of life, as in winter what is evergreen becomes a sign of undying life, and it reminds Christians of the "tree of life" of Genesis 2:9, an image of Christ, the supreme gift of God to humanity.