What is blue dye number one?

FD&C Blue dye number 1 is a synthetic organic compound used primarily as a blue colorant for processed foods, medications, dietary supplements, and cosmetics. It is classified as a triarylmethane dye. Triarylmethane dyes are synthetic organic compounds containing triphenylmethane backbones.