What's the difference between berries and fruit?

Botanically, a fruit is the ripened ovary of a flowering plant with its accompanying tissue. The other fruit are either aggregate drupes or in the case of the strawberry an accessory fruit. Melons, tomatoes, eggplants, grapes, melons, citrus fruit, and bananas, are true berries.