What is a topic statement?

A topic sentence is a sentence that introduces a paragraph by presenting the one topic that will be the focus of the entire paragraph. Similar to a thesis statement, which gives the main idea of a paper at the essay level, a topic sentence gives the main idea at the paragraph level.