What is armistad?

Amistad is a 1997 American historical drama film based on the 1839 events of the slave ship La Amistad, during which Mende tribesmen abducted for the slave trade gained control of their captors' ship, and the international legal battle that followed their capture by a U.S. revenue cutter.