What was the first letter ever invented?

The first letter ever written was believed to be one sent by Queen Atossa of Persia in around 500 BC. It has been cited as the most important letter of all time by history and humanities professor Bríd McGrath, of Trinity College, Dublin. Born in 550 BC, Atossa became queen at the age of 28.