Why are worms good for the soil?

Worms break down organic material, like leaves and twigs. This enriches the soil with nutrients for the plants and grass to use. The worms also shed their castings which add additional nutrients to the soil. The worms aerate the soil bringing oxygen and space for the roots to grow.