Do hollyhocks come up every year?

Hollyhocks are not perennials. Many of the most common varieties are biennials, meaning they complete their lifecycle over 2 years. Hollyhocks will readily self-seed if left to their own devices, so even though they only last two years you can get a lot out of them.