How long has the stanley cup?

Professional teams became eligible to challenge for the Cup in 1906. In 1915, the National Hockey Association and the Pacific Coast Hockey Association reached an agreement that their champions would meet annually for the Stanley Cup. It was established as the championship trophy of the NHL in 1926.