What is a hover parent?

A hover parent is one who hovers over their child at every step; especially on the playground. To prevent any possible bad event from occurring, specifically broken bone, interaction is less important then child. They were originally called helicopter parents.

---

A Hover parent, (AKA helicopter parent), is over-parenting. It means being involved in a child's life in a way that is overcontrolling, overprotecting, and over perfecting, in a way that is in excess of responsible parenting. Helicopter parenting usually backfires, leading to loss of confidence.