What happens if a hamster bites you?

If a hamster bites you, you should wash the area thoroughly and apply antibacterial ointment and cover the wound until it heals. Hamster bites are not serious, but any wound can become infected if not properly cared for. If you develop a fever or infection, seek medical care.