How fast is the sonic boom?

741 miles per hour at sea level. It varies slightly due to the density of the atmosphere. That is the speed of sound. When something that creates a lot of noise is traveling at that speed, the sound waves bunch up and arrive at the listeners location in a large noisy boom.