What's the proper way to slice a tomato?

To be used on a sandwich, tomatoes are sliced horizontally. To be used in a salad, tomatoes are usually diced. Tomato wedges are made by slicing vertically through the tomato. Sometimes the center core of the tomato is removed because it can be woody.