What's the difference between an s. t. d. and an s. t. i.?

The modern term for sexually transmitted disease is STI, which stands for Sexually Transmitted Infection. The term has been changed due to negative connotations associated with Sexually Transmitted Disease and the previous term, Venereal Disease (abbreviated VD).