How does cows eat?

After filling up on grass,cows find a place to lie down to more thoroughly chew their food.This process of swallowing,un-swallowing,re-chewing,and re-swallowing is called “rumination,”or more commonly,“chewing the cud.” Rumination enables cows to chew grass more completely, which improves digestion