How do you get golden mario in mario cart eight deluxe?

To unlock Gold Mario, first you'll have to progress through the 50cc, 100cc and 150cc Grand Prix cups normally to unlock the 200cc races. You'll have to take first place in all of the Grand Prix cups as well. Once you pull that off, Gold Mario will replace Metal Mario on the character select screen.