Why did aaron burr and alexander hamilton dual?

The Burr–Hamilton duel arose from long-standing personal bitterness that developed between the two men over the course of several years including, Hamilton's journalistic defamation of Burr's character during the 1804 New York gubernatorial race, in which Burr was a candidate.