What's the difference between a h. m. o. n. a. ppo?

An HMO is a health maintenance organization and a PPO is a Preferred Provider Organization. An HMO is typically cheaper, has a smaller variety of physicians to choose from and requires referrals to see a specialist. A PPO is typically more expensive but more flexible and has fewer restrictions.