What are gypsy people?

Roma Gypsies originated in the Punjab region of northern India as a nomadic people and entered Europe between the eighth and tenth centuries C.E. They were called Gypsies because Europeans mistakenly believed they came from Egypt. This minority is made up of distinct groups called tribes or nations.