How do you get hardwood in animal crossing?

To collect Wood in Animal Crossing New Horizons, you will need either a Flimsy Axe or an Axe. Once you have one, equip it and walk over to a tree. Hit the tree with an axe and Wood will come out of it. You can hit a tree three times and get Wood pieces from it.