How many snakes are in virginia?

Virginia has 32 native snakes, and you can't be expected the know them all. But you can take a big step toward protecting yourself and your scaly neighbors if you familiarize yourself with just six. Three are venomous — rattlesnakes, cottonmouths and copperheads