What is bennie and the jets about?

The song tells of "Bennie and the Jets", a fictional band of whom the song's narrator is a fan. In interviews, it has been said that the song's lyrics are a satire on the music industry of the 1970s. The greed and glitz of the early 1970s music scene is portrayed in the lyrics.