Are babies born without knee caps?

Yes babies are born without kneecaps, but they have cartilage in place which eventually develops into kneecaps

---

If you considered the kneecap as a piece of bone, then it can be said that babies are born without kneecaps. But if you think that kneecap is a cartilage in the middle of tendon connecting the femur, then babies are born with kneecaps.