When do babies develop hearing?

Around 18 weeks of pregnancy, babies hear their very first sounds. By 24 weeks, those little ears are rapidly developing. Your baby's sensitivity to sound will improve even more as the weeks pass. The limited sounds your baby hears around this point in pregnancy are noises you may not even notice.