When were alligators made?

An alligator is a large reptile of the Crocodilian (Alligator of the family Alligatoridae). The two extant species are the American alligator and the Chinese alligator. Alligators first appeared about 37 million years ago. The name comes from Spain "el lagarto" which means "the lizard.