What is in tequila?

Tequila is a distilled alcoholic beverage made specifically from the Blue Agave plant. The plant has succulent leaves high in fructose, making it good for fermentation. It is related the the Yucca and Aloe plants. Alcohols made from other Agave are referred to as Mezcal.