What does the weather term grapple mean?

Graupel, also called soft hail or snow pellets, is precipitation that forms when supercooled water droplets in air are collected and freeze on falling snowflakes, forming 2–5 mm balls of crisp, opaque rime. Graupel is distinct from hail and ice pellets because of their formation and appearance.

---

Graupel is a type of winter precipitation that's a mix of snow and hail. Graupel forms when snow in the atmosphere encounters supercooled water and ice crystals form on the outside of the snowflake.