Tell me about d-day in world war two?

"D-Day" was June 6, 1944 when Allied forces began the largest land and sea invasion in the history of warfare when they landed on the beaches of Normandy in France. That began the start of a long and expensive campaign to free northwest Europe from Nazi occupation.