How do you convert fresh ginger to dry ginger?

Leave the tray in the sun for 3 days to 1 week. Depending on how much sun your ginger gets and how much humidity is in the air, sun drying can take anywhere from 3 days to 1 week. Ginger will snap when it is fully dry. Check your ginger daily to see if it is dry or if it needs more time in the sun.