What is an affiant?

What does affiant mean? A person who swears to an affidavit compare deponent, witness. History and Etymology for affiant. Middle French, from present participle of affier to pledge faith, swear, from Medieval Latin affidare, ultimately from Latin ad to + fidere to trust.